Victoria Chamber Announces Recipients of 2023 Business Awards

May 5, 2023


VICTORIA – The Greater Victoria Chamber of Commerce is proud to announce the recipients of The Chamber’s 2023 Greater Victoria Business Awards. Finalists for the prestigious awards represented a range of future-thinking businesses, ranging from sustainable menstrual care innovators to electric planes to long-time local institutions.

The winners and finalists, listed below, have distinguished themselves across 14 Business Award categories, including outstanding customer service, sustainable business practices, emerging businesspeople and long-term leadership. The recipients were chosen by an independent panel of prominent business leaders who served as judges.

“Tonight’s award recipients are truly exceptional and deserving of being honoured for their contribution to Greater Victoria’s businesses community,” Chamber CEO Bruce Williams said. “It’s important to recognize the hard work and innovation of the award winners and finalists. They deserve the spotlight and will inspire our region’s many amazing entrepreneurs to keep striving for excellence.”

This year, two outstanding women will be taking the stage to receive The Chamber’s Award of Distinction and The Chamber’s Member of the Year. The Chamber previously announced Mandy Farmer as the recipient of the Award of Distinction, while Ann Squires Ferguson is the Member of the Year.

The Award of Distinction is in recognition of a Chamber member who has had a positive influence on the economy, businesses, and the overall community. The award signifies achievement, resourcefulness and determination. The Chamber Member of the Year award recognizes an engaged, passionate and committed individual who has taken an active role with the Chamber Board or a committee, and who fosters relationships with the community while advocating on behalf of business.

The Chamber’s 2023 Business Awards were held May 4 at the Fairmont Empress with nearly 400 people in attendance to celebrate hard-working businesses, businesspeople and community leaders.

Winners are:

Business of the Year (1-10 Employees); sponsored by City of Victoria – Market Collective

Business of the Year (11-39 Employees); sponsored by Grant Thornton LLP –  L.A. Limousines & Transportation Services

Business of the Year (40+ Employees); sponsored by BCLC ColdStar Solutions Inc.

Business Person of the Year; sponsored by Canadian Tire – Dave Stephens, LIDA Homes Inc.

Chamber Award of Distinction; sponsored by Times Colonist – Mandy Farmer, Accent Inns | Hotel Zed

Chamber Member of the Year; sponsored by Air Canada – Ann Squires Ferguson, Western Design+Build

Community Builder; sponsored by Coast Capital Savings​ – Lifetime Networks

Emerging Business Person of the Year; sponsored by Royal Roads University – Mackenzie Wavryk, Upcycle Clothing Collective

Innovation; sponsored by University of Victoria, Peter B. Gustavson School of Business – joni

New Business; sponsored by Futurpreneur – Compass Mobile Massage Therapy

Non-Profit of the Year; sponsored by Children’s Health Foundation of Vancouver Island – Beacon Community Services

Outstanding Customer Service; sponsored by Innov8 Digital Solutions Inc. – Chateau Victoria Hotel & Suites

Outstanding Workplace of the Year; sponsored by TELUS – Brentwood Bay Resort

Sustainable Business Practices; sponsored by Camosun College – Harbour Air Seaplanes




Share This