United Way Southern Vancouver Island Announces New Board Members

September 26, 2023


VICTORIA – UnitedWay Southern Vancouver Island (UWSVI) announced its new slate of Board members, welcoming four returning members and 11 new.

The Board members were confirmed at UWSVI’s Annual General Meeting on September 20, 2023.
“I am pleased to say that we were very successful in our Board recruitment process and have a wonderful group of community-minded leaders governing our work as we move forward,” says Erika Stenson, Executive Director of UWSVI. “We are also benefiting from the experience and expertise of four very committed and supportive returning members.”
Stenson confirmed that the four returning members are Lisa Arora, Past Chair/Chair of the Governance Committee; Victoria Schmid, Chair; Samer Akouri; and Dr. Deborah George.
The new members are Alana Gallagher, Treasurer; David Zussman, Vice Chair; Jaime Hall; Kim Kerrone; Tony Kiyak; Captain (Navy) Kevin Whiteside, Department of National Defense Representative; Darlene Rotchford, Labour Representative; Dr. Kevin Hall; Florence Dick; and Ryan Foster.
UWSVI’s volunteer Board of Directors sets the direction of the organization, takes responsibility for financial decisions and performance, and is accountable for achieving organizational objectives.
Considered as a whole, says Stenson, this Board provides UWSVI with a breadth and depth of experience and knowledge that will be indispensable in helping guide the organization’s future. Members represent local Indigenous communities, labour, academia, the military, and the private sector, and have professional experience in fields as diverse as technology, finance, health care, public sector management, and business.
All have proven track records in volunteerism and community building in Southern Vancouver Island.
Business Examiner Submitted
Share This