2022 Greater Victoria Chamber Awards Winners Announced

May 10, 2022


VICTORIA – The Greater Victoria Chamber of Commerce is proud to announce the winners of the 2022 Greater Victoria Business Awards.

The winners, listed below, distinguished themselves across 14 Business Award categories, including outstanding customer service, sustainable business practices, young entrepreneurship and business leadership.

“It was an inspiring evening with more than 300 members of our business community sharing stories of success,” Chamber CEO Bruce Williams said. “The winners and the finalists have gone above and beyond and everyone in Greater Victoria will benefit from the work done to show the path forward as our region’s economic recovery continues.”

The Chamber’s 2022 Greater Victoria Business Awards shine a light on hard-working businesses, businesspeople and community leaders. Finalists were chosen by an independent panel of prominent business leaders who served as judges.

The Chamber previously announced that Josh Handysides, CAO of Malahat Nation, will receive the Chamber’s Award of Distinction, while Mary Lou Newbold, CEO of Mayfair Optometric Clinic, is The Chamber’s 2022 Member of the Year.

The Award of Distinction is in recognition of the positive influence the honouree has had on the economy, business, and the overall community, signifying the achievement, resourcefulness and determination they have shown. The Chamber Member of the Year award recognizes an engaged, passionate, and committed individual who has taken an active role with the Chamber Board or a committee, fosters relationships with the community and advocates on behalf of business.

The Chamber’s 2022 Business Awards were presented at a gala evening on Saturday, May 7 at the Fairmont Empress.

2022 Greater Victoria Business Awards Finalists and Winners

Business of the Year (1-10 Employees) – Cold Comfort Ice Cream   sponsored by the City of Victoria.

​Business of the Year (11-39 Employees) – Equilibrium Therapeutics  sponsored by  Worldline.

Business of the Year (40+ Employees) – Monk Office sponsored by Chard Development​​.

Business Person of the Year – Jill Doucette, Synergy Foundation sponsored by Coast Capital Savings​.

Community Builder – Island Savings (a division of First West Credit Union) sponsored by Canadian Tire

Emerging Business Person of the Year – Megan JohnsThe Green Kiss sponsored by:  Royal Roads University

Innovation – WINNER: Origen Air  sponsored by: Peter B. Gustavson School of Business, University of Victoria

New Business – Working Culture Bread sponsored by:  Futurpreneur

​Non-Profit of the Year – United Way Southern Vancouver Island sponsored by Children’s Health Foundation of Vancouver Island

​Outstanding Customer Service – Coastal Heat Pumps sponsored by: ​ Innov8 Digital Solutions Inc.

Outstanding Workplace of the Year – BC Transit sponsored by:  Ralmax Group of Companies

Sustainable Business Practices – Oak Bay Marine Group sponsored by:  Camosun College

Chamber Award of Distinction – Josh Handysides, Malahat Nation sponsored by Times Colonist

Chamber Member of the Year – Mary Lou Newbold, Mayfair Optometric Clinic sponsored by Air Canada





Direct access to our top content, weekly Movers & Shakers, e-magazines, and more.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This