Published On: Thursday, 22 August 2019

The Penticton Chamber's 32nd Annual Business Excellence Awards

The Penticton & Wine Country Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce the

Nominees for the 2019 Business Excellence Awards - presented by McPhail Kilt Makers.

The 32nd annual Business Excellence Awards recognize businesses, organizations and individuals in Penticton and area that have achieved excellence in the community through their own abilities, efforts and initiatives.

With much anticipation, the nominees have been announced for the Penticton & Wine Country Chamber of Commerce 32nd annual Business Excellence Awards.

"We want to thank the public for their participation in the process. It's also truly inspiring to see how each of the nominees contribute to the overall well-being of the community," Nicole Clark, Penticton & Wine Country Chamber President.

A selection committee comprised of business professionals and community leaders will have the difficult task of selecting fifteen of the awards. The judging selection process is in depth, and clearly defined for all the awards. 

The "Community Impact Award" is the People's Choice Award.   Penticton and area residents will play a significant role in the selection of this award via an online vote starting September 1. This is a great opportunity for the public to get directly involved. 

We had 108 nominations for the Business Excellence Awards. Congratulations to each of the following nominees.

Workplace Culture Excellence l South Okanagan Immigrant & Community Services - Ashoka Indian Cuisine; Berry & Smith Trucking Ltd; En'Owkin Centre; Footprints Centre; Greyback Construction; McDonalds; Hudson's Bay; The Hamlets at Penticton; Total Restoration Services and Valley First, a Division of First West Credit Union.

Most Valuable Employee l Downtown Penticton Association - Jaquie Carbajal - NuVista Chiropractic and Wellness; Jayson Lemelin - Naramata Heritage Inn & Spa; Karey Simpson - Terry's Comfort Food

Rose Amante - Naramata Heritage Inn & Spa

Newsmaker of the Year l Penticton Toyota - Penticton Airport; Penticton Regional Hospital and South Okanagan Similkameen Medical Foundation.

Innovation Excellence (Construction, Manufacturing & Technology) l BDO Canada LLP - Okanagan Label & Print Ltd; MacPherson Woodcrafts and Waycon Manufacturing Ltd.

Farm to Glass l Parker's Chrysler Dodge Jeep FIAT - CC Orchards; Serendipity Winery; Time Winery & Kitchen and Winecrush.

Growth & Development l K'uL Management Group - Covert Farms Family Estate; Landform Architecture Ltd. and Ogopogo Tours.

Tourism Excellence l Travel Penticton - Front Street Brasserie; La Casa Ouzeria; Ogopogo Tours; The Penticton Ale Trail; Penticton Peach Festival; The Peach Ice Cream Shop and Town Directory Systems 2002.

Non-Profit Organization of the Year Award l Total Restoration Services - Canadian Mental Health Association; Critter Aid; JCI Penticton; Mela for Cancer; Naramata Centre Society; Ooknakane Friendship Centre; Penticton & Area Access Society; Rotary Club of Penticton; Safety Village Penticton; South Okanagan Immigrant & Community Services; South Okanagan Similkameen Brain Injury Society; South Okanagan Women in Needs Society; The South Okanagan Similkameen Volunteer Centre ;

Community Impact l Grant Thornton LLP; Boyd Autobody & Glass; Cascades Casino; Penticton Western News and Peters Brothers Construction Ltd.

Community Volunteer of the Year l ABK Restoration Services - Barb Hoolaeff; Bruce Tawse; Colleen Caron; Harpreet Sidhu; Ian Fraser & Janet MacDonald; Karolina Born; Laura Burroughs; Linda Sankey; Natalie Ferebee; Pat Brown and Vivian Fox.

New Business l Valley First, a division of First West Credit Union - Desmios Escape Rooms; Great Estates; Okanagan; Wine Experience Centre; NetDNA; Penticton Nissan; Red Cedar Construction; Rise Wellness Centre; Smooth Effects Penticton and Time Winery & Kitchen.

Customer Service Excellence l Fortis BC - Aladdin Flooring Carpet One;Ascend Salon; Canadian Tire; Carls Flowers; Ceders Sewing Centre; City Electric Supply; Ellis Creek Autobody; Goldco Electric; Kettle Valley Home Inspections; LocoLanding Adventure Park; McPhail Kilt Makers; Melt Mineral Spa; Minuteman Press; Oranj Fitness; Poplar Grove Winery; PURE Gym & Juicery; Rid-It Pest Control; Sandman Hotel and South Okanagan Immigrant & Community Services.

Professional Services Business of the Year l Greyback Construction - Meiklejohn Architectural Design Studio; NuVisa Chriopractic and Wellness and Omland Heal Chartered Professional Accountants.

Young Business Leader of the Year l JCI and Kettle Valley Memorial - Amberlee Erdmann; Lyndie Hill - Hoodoo Adventures Co.; Michael Magnusson - Cascades Casino; Nicole MacMillan - Tim Hortons; Ryan Ranit - NuVista Chiropractic and Wellness and Steve Dahl - Ideal Energy Solutions Ltd.

Business Leader of the Year - Sponsored by TD Canada Trust, Small Business Banking - Brian Bendig - Penticton Foundry Ltd; Chris Garwah - NuVista Chiropractic and Wellness; Darren & Adonica Sweet - Ogopogo Tours; David Gutscher - The Hamlets of Penticton and Ronald & Sheela Bee - Burger 55.

Business of the Year - Sponsored by Minuteman Press - RPR Heating & Air Conditioning; The Book Shop; The Hamlets of Penticton; Total Restoration Services and Without A Doubt Day Spa.

We invite the nominees and sponsors to join us for an evening of celebration on Sept. 10 at Time Winery & Kitchen for the Mayor's nominee reception - Register @

The winners in each category will be unveiled on Saturday, October 5 at the Business Excellence Awards "Mad about Plaid" Gala at The Penticton Lakeside Resort - Early Bird Tickets available until Sept 6 at

Kim Kirkham is Executive Director at the Penticton & Wine Country Chamber of Commerce. She can be reached at 778-476-3111 ext. 102.