Published On: Wednesday, 31 January 2018

Okanagan College Names new Chair and Vice Chair for Board

Okanagan College Names new Chair and Vice Chair for Board
Okanagan College Board has named a new chair and vice-chair.

OKANAGAN - Chris Derickson, a councillor with the Westbank First Nation and a four-year veteran of the Board, was recently elected as chair for Okanagan College's Board of Governors. Derickson replaces Summerland’s Connie Denesiuk, whose six-year term with the Board ends in July.

Gloria Morgan, a former chief of the Splatsin Indian Band and an Enderby resident, was earlier acclaimed as vice chair at the Board’s November meeting. Morgan steps into the role vacated by Derickson.

“EOK CollegeBoardChairChristopherDericksonTHChris Dericksonducation has been and will be a key determinant for our region’s social and economic health, and I’m honoured to have the opportunity to contribute in this role,” says Derickson.

“Okanagan College is a vital part of the economic and cultural landscape and I’m focused on ensuring it continues to develop its reputation and contributions.”

Derickson is a partner in Alderhill Planning Inc., which works with government and First Nations communities developing community plans, community engagement strategies, strategic plans, and legal research services. He has served on the Westbank First Nation Council since 2012.

OK CollegeBoardViceChairGloriaMorganTHGloria MorganMorgan was a Chief of the Splatsin Indian Band from 2001 to 2005 and has been an RCMP officer, and a general practice lawyer as well as a Crown Prosecutor.

She was the President of the Enderby and District Chamber of Commerce, and member of the RCMP's E Division Aboriginal Advisory Committee, and served on the board of the Provincial Community Co-ordination for Women's Safety.

“Okanagan College has much to offer in terms of providing the educational opportunities that can serve all people, employers, marginalized groups, and all our communities. I’ve seen its strengths and capacity in the short time I have been on the Board and I want to see that grow further,” she says.

Morgan has been on the Board of Governors since 2016.

She was recently appointed to the BC Patient Safety and Quality Council and served on the BC Patient Care and Quality Review Board. In 2016 she was the recipient of the Community Leader Awards as a Community Builder for the North Okanagan.